Rollcod.jpg

Recipe of the Week
Chisholme Blog | Tuesday, 31st May, 2016

Fillet of Cod with Braised Fennel

Serves four
Recipe by John Brix

Ingredients:

Please ensure you buy sustainably fished cod. Or use pollack which is an excellent alternative!

  • 4 Cod fillets, 6oz (180g) each (without skin)
  • 2 or 3 Fennel bulbs
  • 1 onion or a couple of shallots
  • Chicken or fish stock 1pint (1/2 litre) medium strength
  • 120g clarified butter
  • Cayenne pepper, salt, sugar

Slice fennel bulbs and onion into 1/4" slices (trim off the fennel stems and use in stock making or reserve for roasting with meats)

Sauté onion and fennel in clarified butter till golden, place in roasting tray or casserole dish.

Add some stock (along with a tsp. sugar) and braise for 3/4 hour at 180C, adding more stock as required. When cooked, the fennel should be very tender, so that a cocktail stick goes into it with ease. The stock should have reduced by about half, and the juices should have the consistency of thin cream. Take into account the fish will release some of its juices.

Roll the fillets into three, skin-side in, brush with clarified butter, season with cayenne pepper and salt.

Place the fish on top of the braising fennel and cook for about 20 minutes or until the fish is firm to the touch.

Adjust seasoning to the juices, and serve with sauté or boiled new potatoes and a seasonal green vegetable.

You can also use cod loin or cod steaks for this dish. If they still have skin on them, sauté the skin side first. No need to roll them, just continue as above.

FennelFish.jpg

Link to this post

 
 

Join

Receive our newsletter



Sat 15th June 2024 09:00 to
Sat 22nd June 2024 14:00

More planting and harvesting

 

Sat 22nd June 2024 09:00 to
Sun 23rd June 2024 14:00

You are invited to a weekend of conversation at Chisholme

 

Sat 13th July 2024 19:00 to
Sat 20th July 2024 19:00

Summer harvesting

 

Fri 26th July 2024 19:00 to
Sat 3rd August 2024 14:00

An introduction

 

Fri 9th August 2024 19:00 to
Sat 17th August 2024 14:00

Woodland Retreat

 

Tue 1st October 2024 19:00 to
Mon 24th March 2025 19:00

Winter 2024/25