4068DCE6-4F1B-4CCA-B295-97CB91AE5A18.jpeg

Ecosystems as Love Processes
Frances Ryan | Tuesday, 22nd October, 2019

Does nature practise love?
Why is our economy still destroying the natural environment?
Is it built on a wrong image of life, where the strongest wins and fitness grants success?

Biological life is never about one winning, but rather an endless celebration of reciprocity.

Ecosystems are ways to organise giving that allow the whole to flourish and the individuals to take what they need. If we understand this desire for mutuality as inbuilt in the living world will we be able to imagine a culture that does not destroy life, but that mimics ecology, enacting what may be seen as a practice of love?

The Beshara Lecture is a lecture held annually, for the furtherance of the knowledge of the unity of existence and its ramifications in areas of human endeavour. Sponsored by the Beshara Trust

The Beshara Lecture: Speaker Andreas Weber, Saturday, 16th November, 2019 from 2pm
Venue: Royal Asiatic Society, Stephensons Way, Kings Cross, London NW1 2HD

See here for an article on this subject by the Andreas Weber, published in the Beshara Magazine

Link to this post

 
 

Join

Receive our newsletter



Sat 2nd March 2024 19:00 to
Sat 16th March 2024 19:00

Volunteer for tree planting and estate work

 

Fri 29th March 2024 19:00 to
Sat 6th April 2024 19:00

An introduction

 

Sat 13th April 2024 19:00 to
Sat 27th April 2024 19:00

Volunteer in the Kitchen Garden

 

Sat 18th May 2024 19:00 to
Sat 25th May 2024 19:00

Volunteer in the Kitchen Garden

 

Fri 24th May 2024 19:00 to
Mon 27th May 2024 19:00

An introduction

 

Sat 15th June 2024 19:00 to
Sat 22nd June 2024 19:00

More planting and harvesting